Purgatory Creek Park

One of my favorite places in San Marcos is Purgatory Creek Park. It’s about 81 acres of undisturbed land, and there are tons of different walking and biking trails. It’s the perfect place to go with friends, a significant other and most importantly your furry friends.

img_1889

My nine month old pup, Stark, on one of the trails.

I’m at Purgatory Creek at least once a week. My dog loves the trails, so it’s the perfect place for the both of us to get a workout in. I recommend going about an hour or two before sundown (4:30-5ish), so that way you can experience the sunset at the different peaks throughout the park. I can usually spend about an hour or two at the park, and it’s my favorite way to end the day.

Personally, I think it’s also a great place to get away from everything. Everything is so peaceful and still. I often put my phone on silent or turn it off completely, so I don’t have any distractions. That way I’m free to enjoy the beauty around me.

Purgatory Creek doesn’t have any drinking water available, and they don’t have any restrooms in the park area. If you plan on going I suggest you take the following in a backpack:

  • Water (for your dog as well)
  • Snacks (for you)
  • A treat (for your dog)
  • Sunblock
  • Sunglasses
  • A cap
  • A small first aid kit (to be on the safe side)

Regardless of who you take, what time you go or how long you’re there for I know you’ll enjoy every minute of it. Purgatory Creek is a breath of fresh air, and it’s natural beauty is a perfect addition to San Marcos.

Purgatory Creek Park is located at Ranch Road 12, San Marcos, TX 78666.

Leave a Reply

