Hey Guys!

Welcome to my blog “My guide through San Marcos”. My name is Janessa Rutiaga, and I’m a 20-year-old journalism student at Texas State University. For those of you who don’t know, Texas State University is in the beautiful city of San Marcos, roughly 45 minutes away from Austin, Texas and about an hour away from San Antonio, Texas. I’ve been living in SM for two years now, and I love everything about it. I love it so much, that I chose it as my topic of conversation for this blog.

fullsizerender

This is me. 

My blog will have posts ranging from local restaurants (that are the bomb), the places and things to do in the square (our downtown area), and all the nooks and crannies in between. San Marcos is a relatively small town, but thanks to the humongous university located right at its doors there’s tons of things to do and places to see. We even have our own amusement park, but more on that later.

I have no real purpose with this blog, other than to educate you about my lovely town. Personally, I think it’s a beautiful place with a lot of diversity and I think it deserves the recognition. We have the city thing going on, but we also preserve our wildlife and parks (the number of animals I see around town is weird). We have a river perfect for the summer, and lots of parks and festivals during the winter. It’s the best place to be, so come fall in love with my beautiful San Marcos.

Leave a Reply

